Skip to content

PFW Pt 1

March 9, 2010

Paris Fashion Week is the best, I always seem to love everything that bit more than during the other fashion weeks. And every day of it so far has had me go “omg”, “sooo amazing” and “jesus!”. Here are just a few of my favourites (there are MANY).

Haider Ackerman

Leather, tailoring and architecture. Kick ass!

Giles

I have already expressed my enthusiasm for the Owlcat bag, but the rest of the collection was also very likeable. I loved the 60s vibe, the ladylike tailoring and the muted colours. And almost everyone seems to have a kick ass sheepskin jacket in their repertoire this year, and Giles’ one is one of the best ones.♥

Dior

John Galliano was totally feeling the equestrian theme, and so his AW2010 ready-to-wear collection was very close to his couture collection, at least in inspiration. Lots of girly chiffon frilliness, jodhpurs, tweed, leather and knee high boots. Very very very feminine. Yay!

Gareth Pugh

Gareth Pugh is apparently NOT taking over at McQueen, for those of you who though so. I don’t think any of us did, but there you have it. Still, let’s focus on his own label for now, which I assume he IS designing for. It’s pretty great really.

Balmain

I think Sarah Mower at Style.com got it spot on with her comment that this is all looking a bit Prince. Too right. This is Price goes to the office, wearing gold lame, red leather, purple velvet, baroque patterns, brocade and military jackets. Very different for Balmain, where are the studs and diamonds and ripped jeans? I guess they must be out of fashion.

Lanvin

It’s impossible not to love Lanvin these days. The femininity of Alber Elbaz’s work shines through the innovative tailoring and the embellishments and details add another dimension all together. If I die tomorrow I hope I go to Lanvin heaven.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2010 17:36

    Fabulousness!!

  2. March 9, 2010 20:18

    I like all of these collections, Lanvin was especially good this time.

  3. March 10, 2010 09:17

    Yeah, Lanvin is the shit!

Leave a Reply

