Skip to content

And They’re Off…

February 3, 2010

Fashion Week circus is upon us yet again, and Stockholm kicked it off at the start of this week. Stockholm Fashion Week tends to be a bit heavy on the jeans brands, after all it’s one of the things the Swedes do best. But it is also one of the fashion weeks I look forward to the most exactly because of the commercial nature of the collections – it is a fair picture of what I actually will be wearing next season, not just dreaming about.

So here is a quick recap of the first day, which saw some great collections by Cheap Monday, Dagmar, Stylein and Dr Denim.

Cheap Monday has of course got the lovely Ann-Sofie Back as creative director, and the AW10  collection is far more tailored than what we have seen in previous years. Tailored trousers, blazers and dresses mixed together with jersey, sheer fabrics and leggings made for a sober and sleek experience. I’m loving the leather trousers, though on me those would probably actually come up long…

Dagmar was a whole other kettle of fish altogether, with soft velvet drapery and feminine curves, fluffy retro mohair cardigans, animal print skirts and a little bit of sparkle for good measure. Those mohair creations – I’m feeling a little 90s inspiration going on here…

Dr Denim is, obviously, another jeans brand, but it is one of my favourite collections so far. I’m thinking that has a lot to do with their total 90s obsession – acid wash denim, natural born killers sunglasses, oversize knitwear… It’s like they read my mind. And also – check out the sock garters! Awesome…!

Finally, Stylein jumped right on the sheer bandwagon that everyone seems obsessed with at the moment. Full mesh bodysuit anyone? I am actually a big fan of mesh at the moment, and I love the mix of the delicate mesh with the chunky knitwear, though everything in moderation…

No comments yet

Leave a comment